Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR in /mnt/web_root/html/ on line 57

Notice: Undefined index: city in /mnt/web_root/html/ on line 62

Warning: strpos(): Empty needle in /mnt/web_root/html/ on line 67

Warning: strpos(): Empty needle in /mnt/web_root/html/ on line 71
Houston PaperCity Design Awards Winners Revealed in Celebration at West Avenue - PaperCity Magazine
Home + Design / PaperCity Design Awards

Houston PaperCity Design Awards Winners Revealed in Celebration at West Avenue

BY // 05.25.17
photography Julian Bajsel, Jacob Power, Daniel Ortiz

It was an impressive year, with 291 entries across 18 categories in the Houston PaperCity Design Awards. At the annual celebration, winning designers and architects were announced, and, for the first time, the event served as the kickoff to the week-long, schedule-packed Texas Design Week Houston.

Lead underwriter for both the Awards presentation and Texas Design Week was West Avenue, where an expansive space was transformed for Awards night, and served as headquarters for Texas Design Week with keynotes, panel discussions, forums, pop up shops and a Rizzoli bookstore. Richard Flowers of The Events Company transformed the venue with yards and yards of boxwood, black-and-white stripes, and plaster-white French paneling.

Charismatic L.A. designers Martyn Lawrence Bullard and Mark D. Sikes, who served as two of the four judges for this year’s awards, flew in to present the awards and to take part in Texas Design Week as keynote speakers. New York designer Katie Ridder and architect Peter Pennoyer also judged entries. Winning designers and architects received elegant Andre-Putman-designed Christofle trays, presented by Christofle’s Houston general manager Fausto Villeda.

Following the awards presentation, winning designers and architects celebrated, enjoying wine from Duchman Family Winery and Fall Creek Vineyards and cocktails with Deep Eddy Vodka, and bites by Canopy Catering.

Gables execs Sue Ansel, Cris SullivanDawn SevertDarin BotelhoDennis Rainosek, and Jennifer Harris flew in from Atlanta and Dallas, joining Josh Landry and Scott Tracy for the affair.

All smiles were winners Aaron Rambo, Shannon Mann, Courtnay Tartt Elias, Shawn Gottschalk, Bailey McCarthy, Lindsey Herod, Meg Lonergan, Michael Wiglesworth, Gensler’s Greg LaCour and Brooks Howell, Rottet Studio’s Chris Evans, Jon Deal, Virginia Kelsey, and Matt Camron Rugs & Tapestries’ Sarah Esfahani Tringhese.

Holiday Gifting

  • Cle Du Peau - Lip Gloss
  • Mariquite Masterson
  • Mariquite Masterson
  • Oscar De La Renta - Clutch
  • Loeffler Randall - Clutch
  • Cle Du Peau - Nail Polish
  • Loeffler Randall - Shoes
  • Bond No 9 - Candle
  • Oscar De La Renta - Earrings
  • Casa di Lino
  • Bond No 9 - Perfume
  • Nocturne Studio

Joining in the celebration were Karen Pulaski, Bill Peck, Chris Alexander, Alton LaDay and Jonathon Glus, Jennifer Barron, Sarah Eilers, Ben Johnston, Mary Vu, Carla Munoz, Cathy Blum, Matt Johns, Ruth Davis, Michael Mandola, Jillian O’Neill, Elizabeth Ingram, Ronda Rice Carman, Dawn Ginn, and Hannah & Mahyar Badrei.

For the list of PaperCity Design Awards categories and corresponding winning entries, click here.

Featured Properties